You Wanna See Me Do the Shimmy Again?

Tina Turner is one of my celebrity best friends, so naturally I was thrilled to hear that Sophia Loren talked her out of retirement long enough to go on tour.

I saw Tina in concert back in 1985 when Private Dancer came out. I was a freshman at Ouachita Baptist University and don’t think for a minute that Better Be Good to Me wasn’t my theme song. I drove up to Little Rock for the concert on a Tuesday night with some friends. I was so moved by the experience that I wrote a kickass short story about it in my freshman English class the next day. I don’t remember many details from it, but I think there was something original in it about her “singing directly to me.” Understandably, it totally blew my teacher, Professor Quick, away.

That was over 20 years ago, and I remember my friend Felley’s dad at the time talking about how funny he thought it was that high school kids were so in love with a rock star from his generation. She’s still hot.

Here is a concert schedule.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

7 Comments on “You Wanna See Me Do the Shimmy Again?”

  1. Jennie Says:

    Were you there when Bro. Don went to the attic to drag out his favorite Neil Diamond concert VHS tape? It was getting late and we were all about to go home, but he insisted we stay and watch it. Ashley was so embarrassed, but I was definitely entertained.

  2. Troy Says:

    I wasn’t there THAT time, but if you are going to be in Bro. Don’s life, watching the Jazz Singer with him is a right of passage.

  3. Citizen D Says:

    I’m ambivalent about Tina, but I like that you’re a fan. Regardless, how cool is it that Sophia Loren convinced her to tour?

  4. Susan Says:

    Love Sophia Loren…she’s gorgeous! Tina has hot legs. Woowoo!


  5. I too saw Tina on that tour with my best friend Rebecca Lawson. We both screamed “Tina” until our throats were sore. As a tribute to Tina, Rebecca now calls me “Raggedy Man.” Can anyone guess where that name came from. If you’re a Tina fan, you should be able to guess.

  6. crystal Says:

    1985????
    For real, I love me some Tina. And Sophia Loren isn’t a slouch either, if I looked that hot NOW, I’d come out of retirment.

  7. Troy Says:

    “See you in Hell, Raggedy Man.” – Tina Turner to Mel Gibson, Mad Max III, Beyond Thunderdome


Leave a Reply

