Indiana is Hopping

So I was walking from my car to Goose Market, and in the same set of storefronts was an Obama campaign office.

I popped in to say hello. The staffers were so excited, not to see me, but because one of the super delegates (former DNC chair when Bill C. was president) had just switched his support from Clinton to Obama. This despite the Jeremiah Wright thing.

In case you’re wondering, I think all that Wright business is weird. I should confess that I watched the Press Club speech he made along with the Q & A, and frankly agreed without about 90% of what he said. He was preaching, which for him means he speaks in long drawn out paragraphs (inflammatory) and reconciles them at the end with hope, none of which leads to good sound bites, which, of course, is all the media can manage to work with anymore.

I was waiting in a doctor’s office this week after Obama had “denounced” (gets my vote for most recent ridiculously over used and meaningless word) Wright. A mother in her 80s and a daughter in her late 60s were sitting near me in the waiting room and I eavesdropped on their conversation, which went like this:

Daughter: It sounds like “Barack Bobama’s” pastor is one of those radicals.

Mother: Well, I don’t care what he is, you ought not to go against your preacher. I don’t like that kind of thing.

Damned if you do, damned if you don’t.

I hear later stuff Wright mentioned was even more controversial, and the person telling me about it said I wouldn’t have liked it. Maybe. I don’t care. Wright’s not Obama’s political advisor.

And if this election ends up hinging on questionable associations, Clinton has a lot more of those to be worried about than Obama. Republicans have a Mayflower van parked outside waiting to unload her baggage as I write this.

This is completely off topic, but instead of looking more tired as this eternal primary drags on, Obama actually looks healthier and more energized (aka – even more cute) in my opinion.

On to other early Summer topics:

As we look to June, we’re anticipating a visit from Jennie and J. who are coming up for our church’s first hymn sing. So excited to see them. My friend Frank is organizing the ‘sangin’ (my grandparents term for a hymn sing). He’s a big wig with the Miss Indiana/America pageant, and I talk to him about it all the time.

The pageant is also in June, and I’m trying to stoke a group to go. Miss Arkansas, and of course, Batesville’s own Miss White River pageant, were always big deals. At least they seemed like it when I was a teenager in the ’80s. Are they still? I wish I knew. But with all those sequins, the tans, mountains of eye make-up, the great hair, the smell of moisturizer, and girls talking into the mic about Jesus while being ogled by a bunch of gay men, what’s not to love?

Welcome Summer!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

3 Comments on “Indiana is Hopping”


  1. With all this excitement, I’m screaming from the rooftops, “BRING IT ON.”

  2. Jennie Says:

    Can’t wait!

  3. Rosie Says:

    I think you make an important point about the structure of a sermon – inflammatory statements which culminate in an idea that there is hope. I am so tired of the media pulling apart speeches that people make looking for something that is newsworthy (aka exciting, inflammatory, etc). It seems irresponsible to me that they take that approach. I guess it proves that it is foolish to rely on the news media for an objective reporting of things. Perhaps the Republicans had it right when they say the news media is biased – though I would disagree that it is a liberal bias, its more like a news-is-entertainment-bias.


Leave a Reply

