Christian Music Host Comes Out

Good for Azariah Southworth. The host of a Christian music television show in Nashville has come out. The story is in Nashville’s Out & About.

He told Brent Meredith of O & A:

I know I will be cut off from many within the Christian community, and if so, then they didn’t get the point of the life of Christ. I believe by me living my life honestly and authentically now, I am able to be a better person and a better Christian. We all know there are so many other gay people in the Christian industry; they’re just all scared. I was scared, but now I’m no longer afraid.

And he’ll stop wasting precious time and energy trying to be someone he isn’t. Azariah, as another person who’s had to say “I know I will be cut off from many within the Christian community,” you may be surprised by how much energy you have left over to do God’s work now that you no longer have to spend it all on something that didn’t need fixing.

It always makes me happy to see young people come out. My only regret was waiting until I was 30, but it was just the path I had to take, I guess. Now Southworth will have time to grow and mature in relationships if he wants to date. I feel pretty lucky to have met John right quick, like months after we both came out, which was almost at the same time. We think it was kind of miracle we found each other. Sounds silly, but frankly, I believe miracles are all that explain a lot of things in my life anymore.

Good luck, Azariah. I’ll be praying for you. These first few months will be tough. You will have no shortage of people trying to scare you back into the closet. But as a gay friend of mine told me when I came out, you’re already a lot stronger than you think you are.

(Update: My friend Jim sent me this link to an even more recent interview with Azariah. Evidently his coming out has caused quite a stir.)

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Christian Music Host Comes Out”

  1. Citizen D Says:

    “I believe that miracles are all that explain a lot of things in my life anymore.” I like that. Me too.

  2. Jennie Says:

    I’m so glad you and John found each other, too. A perfect pair.

  3. adamj Says:

    it’s always good when a high-profile christian comes out (instead of getting busted in a meth/gay prostitution ring). more power to azariah (cool name).

    i’m very glad that you came out, troy… and that you guys found each other… how perfect is it that you are with someone who is handy and can actually construct things. no offense, you make mean biscuits and gravy, but i don’t want you getting anywhere near a table-saw.

  4. Troy Says:

    table saw, table schmaw


Leave a Reply

