Good Service/Bad Service

In keeping with Dave’s suggestion that we document service highlights I thought I should give a shout out to O’Malias Grocery Store in downtown Indy. 

O’Malias is getting a makeover and food is on a different aisle every time I go, which is fine.  Updates are certainly needed.  Last night I was hunting for some gorganzola cheese for a pizza recipe I’m making, but all I could find was packaged, shredded Kraft basic cheeses -cheddar, etc. 

When I was checking out I mentioned that I was sad because I couldn’t find any gorganzola.  The woman checking me out (she looked about 18 so I’m not going to use her name here), who has always been friendly, shut down her register in mid-check out and said, “well, let’s just go see if we can find it for you.”  After going to a few places with no luck, she asked another employee who said, “Oh,  yeah.  We moved that over here,”  and then he walked with us to the exact spot where it was.  I was so thankful.  Back when I worked for Wal-mart (I was young and needed the money) we were told that if any customer ever asked where something was we were to take them to it, not just point in its general direction.  I’ve always thought this was good advice, but I’ve never seen a grocery store employee do it.   I’ll be writing a letter to thank the store manager. 

A few blocks away, however, customer service at Complexions Spa is not as impressive.  A couple of months ago I decided that living in a state that is gray four months out of the year entitles me to treat myself to a monthly facial.  I could have gone with a massage, but I turned forty in January and I have so MUCH face that I decided that a facial would probably provide me with greater bang for my buck. 

I made arrangements with the receptionist to reserve the 4th Tuesday of each month at 5:45 p.m. with Santina, who is awesome.  The first two months went fine, but I showed up the other day and they said they didn’t have me on the calendar.  Glitches happen, so I didn’t make a huge deal out of it even though I’d been looking forward to it all day.  The woman at the desk tried to reschedule me, but I told her I would have to e-mail her in the a.m. since I didn’t have my calendar with me. I e-mailed the next day explaining again what happened and asking to reinsert me into the monthly schedule and I haven’t heard a peep from them. 

I really wanted this monthly event to be a no-brainer kind of thing, which is why I scheduled a recurring monthly apppointment.  I would think this would be a win-win situation for a business, but I guess they have enough traffic that they don’t need to manage appointments that well.  I’m still deciding if I should try to get a hold of them again. 

  

  

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Good Service/Bad Service”

  1. lmb Says:

    “I decided that living in a state that is gray four months out of the year entitles me to treat myself to a monthly facial.” I like the way you think, Troy! I hope they pull their well-coiffed heads out of their exfoliated asses and make it happen for you.

  2. Troy Says:

    Laura, you’re hilarious.


  3. Troy, thanks for reminding me about good customer service highlights.


Leave a Reply

