Missed Anniversary

September 1, 2007 marked three years of GrowingSense. I totally forgot my anniversary. I feel so stupid.

It didn’t even dawn on me that I’d missed it until I was driving home from work the other night, and then I was like, “Oh s***! My anniversary was almost three weeks ago!”

I wasn’t too surprised by the response I got when I finally ‘fessed up to me. I burst into tears and said, “I’ve spent three long years pouring my guts out to God and everybody and I can’t even remember the date it all started? Sometimes I wonder if I even love me.”

I was so irked. I said, “Writing about me, non-stop for three years is surely a sign of self-love.” The crackling silence that followed let me know that my insightful observation was evidently not what I wanted to hear. The withering stare peeling the paint off the wall behind me confirmed my suspicion.

I’ve never seen me so angry. I have a few calls to the florist and a trip to R Bistro in my future. Don’t worry; I’m sure this will all blow over soon. I can never stay mad at me.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

6 Comments on “Missed Anniversary”

  1. Citizen D Says:

    Happy (late) anniversary. I know there is an element of seriousness to your post, but I also appreciated the humor.

    I once read a quote from a famous author (not that famous, I suppose, because I’ve forgotten who) that basically said writing anything is by definition narcissistic. It made sense to me at the time. I think there is still a certain amount of truth to it. But since I started writing a blog and, more importantly, reading those of others, I’ve found that I don’t agree with it completely. Not everyone and not all the time, but people have interesting and important things to say. I count you among those who have something to say.

  2. bigskymind Says:

    I remember back to the first time I told D that I wanted to have a blog and he said to me “Oh my friend Troy has a blog, you should totally read it”. Seems like just yesterday. You are my blogspiration! I wouldn’t have my little blog if it wasn’t for you! Think of all the blogs you’ve help start. You are like the blogfather. Don’t be so hard on yourself, I forget important stuff ALL the time, I blame it on being blonde!

  3. Troy Says:

    You all are nice. One of the things I’ve loved most about blogging is “meeting” new people, even though I don’t think CD and I have ever had an actual face to face convo. Social technology is so interesting.

  4. Susan Says:

    Happy Blog Anniversary! Thanks for sharing your thoughts and life with all of us.


  5. I had an upset stomach on Sept. 1, 2007 and I couldn’t figure out why. I was upset and ill, as if something was missing. What was it? Why did I feel that way. Now I know. I was due to pay homage and it was eating me up inside.

  6. Jennie Says:

    Love the new header and template. Very nice.


Leave a Reply

