Strong Ideas

I was at the Indianapolis Museum of Art the other night visiting the very good German Expressionist Era Prints exhibition (GE artists were sort of like Liquid Plumber for what they perceived to be the rut stuck art situation of WWI-era-ish Germany).

I ran across this quote from Franz Marc, an artist with Der Blaue Reiter group:

In this epoch’s great battle for a new art, we fight as disorganized
“savages” against an old, well organized power. The battle seems
unequal, but in spiritual matters victory is never determined by number
but by strength of ideas.

I’m sort of surprised to find that I still believe this.

(Oh, and, of course I didn’t have a pencil and paper with me that night. My friend Wendy Wilkerson who still works at the IMA was kind enough to take time out her day on Friday to write the quote down and send it to me. You’re the best, Lobster Lady! The exhibition is free and runs through December 2. Worth a trip.)

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

