Move Over Joan, Fishers Has A New Mommie Dearest

ho5_8_5_dunaway

Isn’t this sweet? The Star carried a story about Jeanne Atkins. She owns a Cheesecake company in Fishers, an Indianapolis suburb and hosts a daily prayer meeting for her workers:

“I pray for my strength, my joy and my wisdom,” said the member of St. Luke Catholic Church who is a devout Catholic and attends Mass daily. “Prayer is my strength.”…

“You’re making God’s heart smile,” Atkins told the 36 employees at the June 28 prayer time.

But the true nature of her cheesy faith is revealed in the hateful way she and her family are treating her son and his partner of 27 years. Atkin’s son, Patrick had a stroke on a business trip back in 2005 that left him disabled. When Brett, Patrick’s partner (they met in college, owned a home together, shared bank accounts, etc.) rushed to Atlanta where he was hospitalized, Patrick’s family left orders with the ICU that only family and clergy were allowed to see Patrick. And though they’d been together for over 20 years by that time, Brett was not “legally” family.

Since then, the Atkins have refused to let Brett care for or even visit Patrick, who is now mentally and physically disabled. This is the man Brett has spent over half his life loving. Because Brett and Patrick were not married and had not crafted a living will (heads up folks!), Patrick has no legal recourse. Even if they’d spent the thousands of dollars required to draw up necessary (for couples who can’t get married) documents, there are no guarantees that they hold up in a state like ours when you have wealthy holy-rollers like Jeanne willing to clog things up indefinitely.

A recent court decision, while not allowing Brett to care for his partner, insisted that he at least be allowed to visit him. The Atkins’ are appealing the decision in order to keep Brett away.

I wonder if God’s heart smiled when Jeanne Atkins said this:

The record also shows that she told (Brett) Conrad that if her son was going to return to life with his partner after recovering from his stroke, she would prefer he not recover at all.

With this kind of motherly love, it’s no surprise that this letter from Patrick back in 2000 had no effect on his family’s lack of compassion:

I want you all to know that Brett is my best friend in the whole world and I love him more than life itself. I beg all of you to reach out to him with the same love you have for me, he is extremely special and once you know him you will understand why I love him so much. Trust me, God loves us all so very much, and I know he approves of the love that Brett and I have shared for over 20 years.

Sorry Patrick.

Explore posts in the same categories: "Atkins Cheesecake", "Atkins Elegant Desserts", "Jeanne Atkins", "Patrick Atkins", Cheesecake, Fishers, Indianapolis

12 Comments on “Move Over Joan, Fishers Has A New Mommie Dearest”


  1. You’re right Troy. This is a “heads up” for all of us couples. I will make the call today to a family friend/attorney to get the ball rolling. I find it appalling and sad that the family takes this position. I truly believe that my family would not stand in the way should something like this, God forbid, happen to me or Ken. I want him right by my side, ALWAYS AND EVERYWHERE!

    I never liked Atkins Cheesecake anyway!

  2. Jennie Says:

    Stories like this make me so sad.

  3. Susan Says:

    I got chills when I pictured this mother as Joan Crawford and the thought that she probably used to shout “NO WIRE HANGERS” at her son. Sad story. People never really know what truly goes on behind closed doors.

  4. Paul Moore Says:

    I find this woman appalling. The only thing I can see positive from this travesty is that Brett and Patrick will be together again someday. Hopefully, St Peter will meet this crazy bitch at the gates and let her know that Patrick does not want her to visit.

  5. crystal Says:

    why don’t people just realize that you can’t have too many people loving you?

  6. Marcie Says:

    There is a special place in hell for the new Joan.


  7. […] the comments section of the Indianapolis Star. This woman and her friends were none too happy about Jeanne Atkins keeping her disabled son from his partner of 25 years. Yesterday, my Red Hat group was at a […]

  8. Don Says:

    I believe that all involved are worthy of our prayers. Since this has come to the forefront it has been my prayer that all people be touched in such a way to see that love is of God and those who love, love God. It is also my prayer that those of us who see the in- justice of this tragic situation won’t fall to being guilty of similar behavior. Through the good news of the Gospels we see Mary set the example of a loving mother and Jesus being the example of an obedient son. I think our prayer should be that others see this example. We should simply follow the mandate of the Great Commandment; that we love one another, but just as it says, we have to love ourselves first. Maybe all the prayers I’ve mentioned could be reduced to this, “God, help me to love myself, so that I can love others, just as you have commanded.”


  9. Well written. Thanks very much. We have received many positive, supportive comments and inquiries asking where to contribute to help Brett with the legal fees. We have setup a website:
    http://www.justiceforpat.com

    Please tell your friends about the site, but also ask them to follow the example of the Red Hats.

    Thanks.

  10. diana Says:

    You know it is so remarkable that a woman who claims to have such faith would snub his partner and shame her son for being gay. What an irony that she also seems to be totally ignorant of the fact that another family suffers from his absence as he was close to all of the conrad family, mother, father, nieces and nephews. I think this is her test here on this earth to prove her holiness and she has failed miserably. What a shame she ignores her son’s emotional needs. I too tried to call Pat and was told he could not receive callers. I really think the family is holdig him hostage – and isn’t this abuse?

  11. deborah Says:

    You know it is so remarkable that a woman who claims to have such faith would snub his partner and shame her son for being gay. What an irony that she also seems to be totally ignorant of the fact that another family suffers from his absence as he was close to all of the conrad family, mother, father, nieces and nephews. I think this is her test here on this earth to prove her holiness and she has failed miserably. What a shame she ignores her son’s emotional needs. I too tried to call Pat and was told he could not receive callers. I really think the family is holdig him hostage – and isn’t this abuse?


  12. […] surprised, however, to see that they made a point of advertising that they serve Atkins Cheesecake. Jeanne Atkins, owner of Atkins Elegant Desserts went on record that she would prefer to see her comatose gay son […]


Leave a Reply

