High/Low

High point of the weekend was singing Hairspray songs with David at the Sing-a-Long screening on Saturday night.  John opted for a night of playing a board game I stink at with our neighbors.  I can’t imagine why he wouldn’t want to sit next to me as I belt out show tunes at the top of my lungs, but there you go.  Dave and I sat toward the front where we could lead the rest of the audience in song and inspire them with our spontaneously choreographed hand movements. 

Low point –    John and I drove to Parker City to visit his grandmother in the hospital.  She had taken a bad fall the week before.  As I was putting the flowers we brought on her table she looked at John and said, “You’ve gotten so thin.”  Then she looked at me and said, “You’ve gotten fat.”  (Cue Debbie Downer music).   I guess I should have added some foot work to those killer Sing-a-Long hand moves.  

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

4 Comments on “High/Low”


  1. Wudn’t it fun? There was no room for popcorn in my mouth as it was filled with melodic notes.

  2. Jennie Says:

    At what point in our lives do we decide it’s okay to make those comments? I tend to hear them from people old enough to be grandmothers and grandfathers, but I don’t ever want to reach that point. EVER.

  3. Susan Says:

    I completely agree with Jennie. I hope I never reach the point in life where I say something about someone elses weight, hair color, or life. Period.

  4. Leann Says:

    I love your Debbie Downer reference. I’ve been around some old ladies who will flat out tell people they need to lose weight. It’s disgusting. Do old people just not care anymore? So sad.


Leave a Reply

