The Eyes of Tammy Faye Are Upon Us

Back in the late 1980s,just before the PTL scandal broke I watched a lot of PTL, not because I connected with it personally, but I just couldn’t take my eyes off of the spectacle of everything they did. From fundraising to throwing up a Christian theme park, Heritage USA in what seemed like a day–it was a frantically billowing mushroom cloud of gospel glitz.

But within days, Jim and Tammy’s scandal brought down all of the superfluous mess in a heap and left their souls and thousands of others searching, humble and financially strapped.

It was the humility-filled Tammy Faye that I fell in love with. Her heart became so tender after that time. She didn’t pretend to have all of the answers, and I don’t know that she ever really figured her life out (who does?). She kept her faith pretty much as it was, but after the salacious dust settled she just came out loving everybody in a whole new way.

Tammy did the interview a few days before she died. Knowing how put together she preferred to look, I think it represented a new level of humility for her, and it was, in my opinion, the most glorious farewell performance she could have mustered.

If you know what’s good for you, you’ll put the documentary The Eyes of Tammy Faye in your Netflix que. As the tagline says, “she’ll make a believer out of you.”

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

3 Comments on “The Eyes of Tammy Faye Are Upon Us”

  1. Susan Says:

    I apologize before typing this, but my most bold memory of Tammy Faye is the performance made on SNL during the skit “The Church Lady”. I was pretty young and it was the funniest skit I had ever witnessed. Those black made up eyes literally melting down her face in serious black tears. And the church lady stating “Well, isn’t that sPcheeeial”(special) and asking if she had seen “SaaaaTIN” (satan). Gosh I miss that skit.
    However, I do think the scandal of Tammy Faye and Jim brought some form of humble to her.

  2. Troy Says:

    I totally remember that skit. Jan Hooks was Tammy and it was hilarious. She had mascara everywhere. I bet if I You-tubed I could find it.

  3. Leann Says:

    I couldn’t believe how bad Tammy Faye looked when I found out she had died and they showed that Larry King clip of her. I felt so horrible for her but she went out with a bang. I watched the Surreal Life the season she was on…with Ron Jeremy. And she was totally non-judgmental toward him and all the other crazy-acting folks. It made me love her in a strange way.


Leave a Reply

