Bush to the U.S. – Awww…National Security Ain’t Worth All That

I know I shouldn’t be surprised by the depths of Bush’s disregard for our national well-being, but even I was shocked that he is letting Scooter Libby ignore a court-ordered jail sentence.

“I respect the jury’s verdict,” Bush said in a statement. “But I have concluded that the prison sentence given to Mr. Libby is excessive. Therefore, I am commuting the portion of Mr. Libby’s sentence that required him to spend thirty months in prison.”

Excessive? Really?! 30 months of prison is too great a price to pay for hiding the truth that you used the privilege of your tax-funded office to divulge national security secrets just to get even with someone for uncovering information that, had it not been deliberately covered up by this administration, might have kept us out of Iraq?

I figured Bush would pardon Libby on his way out of office, but I really didn’t think he would just let him skip the clink all together. And he’s doing it despite the fact that every court ruling suggested Libby should do time, including Bush-appointed judges. Is it just me, or does this sort of implicate Bush in the scandal as well? What other reason would he have to commute Libby’s sentence at this time?

The millions of us who have lived through the past 6 1/2 years (yes, we still have a year and half to go) of powerlessness in the face of Bush’s careless disregard of both the legislative and judicial branches of government will pay the price for his flippancy. Not by ponying up the $250,000 that Libby is still fined. (But then again, do any of us believe he will be the one paying that tab?) No, the greater price will be paid in the eye-rolling “whatevers” that result from a generation of voters who haven’t been this disenchanted with government since Nixon was in office. At least Nixon left early!

I like John Edward’s response the best so far:

“Only a president clinically incapable of understanding that mistakes have consequences could take the action he did today. President Bush has just sent exactly the wrong signal to the country and the world. In George Bush’s America, it is apparently okay to misuse intelligence for political gain, mislead prosecutors and lie to the FBI. George Bush and his cronies think they are above the law and the rest of us live with the consequences. The cause of equal justice in America took a serious blow today.” (From TPM Cafe)

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

8 Comments on “Bush to the U.S. – Awww…National Security Ain’t Worth All That”

  1. catch Says:

    i have overlooked a lot of what he has done (besides the killing of innocents) and written it off as “good ole boy” stupidity, but yeah, this deal is all shades of shady…how much more “in your face” can you be?

    i know that this will never happen, but how ’bout we leave the fraternity rites and gimmies out of the “public”, “representative” federal government?

  2. Troy Says:

    I’m with you J. I don’t think what it takes for people like them to “succeed” – money and the chance for making more of it – is necessarily what representative government can really be about.

  3. Sally Says:

    I find the irony in that Paris served her sentence and Scooter wormed his way out of his. What does he know that Bush was so afraid of???

  4. Citizen D Says:

    Of the things he has done to surprise me, this wasn’t one. Libby took the fall for the whole debacle and Bush is rewarding him with what spoils he can. I think it’s actually sort of interesting that he merely commuted the sentence and didn’t pardon him. My opinion is that Bush was trying to make everyone happy, but will end up pleasing no one.

    That’s not to say he was justified. I agree completely with your analysis. I’m just not surprised.

  5. lmb Says:

    When I first read that Bush had commuted Libby’s sentence, I thought, well of course he did. Who didn’t see that coming?

    But then I read this, and it frankly terrified me. If Bush protects the liars in his Administration, and thereby protects the last 18 months of his presidency… what on earth is he going to try next?

  6. Susan Says:

    I don’t think there is any President past or future that has been capable of pleasing everyone.


  7. my brother got 10 years for his crime and I am serious when I say they let a triple (bleep bleep) murderer go free after he served 14 years. so Bush’s reasoning sucks. 30 months….try 123 months. rich ass heathen.


  8. oh i need to add that i had the “pleasure” of meeting on my many trips to the pokey. didn’t want ya to think i pulled that one out of thin air.


Leave a Reply

