Mountain View Memories

John and I hit the road in our new (to us) Element and headed to Arkansas to see Mom and Dad. We drove down Friday night in the dark so we wouldn’t have to look at southern Illinois.

John, Dad, and Mom
John had never been to Mountain View in the summer time. He likes the Arkansas Folk Center there so I wanted the Stone County courthouse square to be one of our stops. For those of you who don’t know, Mountain View, AR is billed as the Folk Music Capitol of the World. I’m not sure it lives up to the “world” part of that title, but every Friday and Saturday night during the warm months excellent folk (in the broad sense of that term) musicians pour into the square to just play—honest and unplugged.

Learning
Old folks teach the young’uns.

Family Band
Family bands like this one from Fordyce, AR play hard and always look like they’re having fun.

Mountain View 027
This woman played Amazing Grace on water glasses while her husband accompanied her on the guitar. The music was ethereal and people sang along quietly. In between verses the woman and her husband would argue about how fast or slow the other was going.

There were so many groups playing we didn’t get to listen to them all. Click here to see more photos. Mountain View would make a good weekend trip for acoustic music fans. Going there made me miss home. I think my friends Kris and Scott from Minnesota would really enjoy it. Someday I hope to get them down here for it.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

9 Comments on “Mountain View Memories”

  1. jennie Says:

    It looks like a wonderful weekend! It makes me want to visit Mountain View very soon. I wanted to try to see you and John while you were in Arkansas, but I knew you probably had a tight schedule of stuff to fit in while you were here. I’ll see you in Cleveland in several weeks, I guess!!

  2. Chuck Says:

    Troy, The locals tell me there is music every night but more people come out on the weekends, players and listeners alike.

  3. Sally Says:

    Did you have any of the Kin Folks Bar-B-Q? Sounds like a fun weekend!

  4. Paul Moore Says:

    Are you ssure you didn’t visit Fountain City?


  5. we’re having the leatherwoods (local celebs in mt. view) play at the ceremony in a couple of weekends. they’ll play and sing for about 1.5 hours before the ceremony, then head off to MV for a gig.

    i love to tell people about this part of the state.

    yes, this is a part of “home” to miss.

  6. Troy Says:

    Now I’m REALLY sorry we have to miss the Batesville leg of your wedding tour Julie.


  7. Hey you, watch out what you say about Southern Illinois. My family is from that area. Valier, Benton, and Christopher to be exact. Them’s fightin’ words. Can you imagine me and you in a fistfight…I am LOL at the thought of it.

  8. Howard Says:

    Troy,
    Sorry we missed you and John this weekend. I had mad our Branson reservations several months ago. We had a large dose of hillbilly and bluegrass as well. If I can, I always try to go during th Bluegrass Festival. There is always several family bands there. There must be something about growing up singing with your sibs, their harmony is always better than the other bands.

  9. Katy Says:

    So glad you all wanted to go to Mountian View, we loved it, and always wonder why we don’t go more often.
    We loved having you here for the weekend, come back soon, we will go again.


Leave a Reply

