Morning Times

House

Morning in Indiana this time of year is a wonder. The light on our back porch is soft and the air is just cool enough to wake me up slowly.

I drink my coffee on the swing with the sun on my back. A lemon-scented veil from the Peonies in the flower bed behind me floats nearby. The smell goes well with my Cheerios.
Bully
Bully (the chicken) and I stare at the garden for about a half hour (he actually stares at it most of the day as far as I can tell). It’s my irritating tendency to critique the location of everything I’ve ever planted, but in the morning I make the effort to just relax and enjoy the bright bronzy greens that only the light of early day can fill the garden with.

As I stare, I drink my morning coffee from only one of two cups- either a small soft yellow one from the 70s that I inherited from Rosie’s beloved grandmother or a perfectly proportioned rust-colored one from a set that Duane made a few years back. For some reason I like small coffee cups. I tend to be a slow coffee drinker, so smaller ones keep me from ending up with cold coffee.

Mornings weren’t always like this for me.

I can remember a time, roughtly ages 23-31, when I spent the early hours of each day journaling incessantly, analyzing every thought or decision I made the day before or might make later that afternoon. My ramblings typically turned into prayers. Therapy, my analytic tendencies, and my Southern Baptist heritage were a bit too much of a match made in heaven. I ignored what morning is all about.

Recently I cleaned out a bedroom dresser and found those old journals. I read through some of them, but when I found myself reprimanding the 2007 Troy for critiquing the 1998 Troy who was most likely criticizing the “day before whatever I was reading” Troy, I put them away.

These days I try to live a little more in the moment and use my senses rather than my thoughts to start the day. It’s not that I don’t value personal reflection; I just tend to get my daily allowance without much need for supplements.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

13 Comments on “Morning Times”


  1. Troy, you are so blessed with talents that pay off in such a relaxing way. Your garden is beautiful and it sounds simply divine to take your coffee and collect your thoughts on your beautiful porch. I’m glad you have that opportunity each day.

  2. jennie Says:

    After reading this wonderful entry, I am painfully aware of how much I miss by sleeping until the last possible second before I go to work.

    And I love that you love small coffee cups.

  3. Citizen D Says:

    Great post. I love mornings too.

    This time of year, I like to sit on our back deck and drink coffee. Only I drink it from one of three huge cups. Two of them are part of an identical set Jennifer and I received as a wedding gift. They are a solid blue color that apparently was popular in the late 90s. We received several kitchen items of the same color. The other, which is really my favorite, was a Christmas gift from a title insurance agent with whom I’ve worked for several years. It’s white with surfboards. His father owns a coffee plantation in Hawaii and a pound of pure Kona accompanied the mug. Wow, sorry to go on for several sentences about coffee cups.

    Anyway, I enjoyed the perspective. Depending on where I am in life, I’ve sometimes found living in the moment hard.

  4. Marcie Says:

    these kind of mornings are sooooooo serene and MY fave!! :)) Hope to see you soon!!

  5. Barb Says:

    Love the post, Troy! I love these mornings on our deck surrounded by the fresh new starts of the season, along with the birds happy to have new places to nest. And last but not least, I, too, enjoy my coffee out of my Williamsburg “child’s cup”. Life is grand!

  6. Sally Says:

    That is so Zen. Wow!


  7. I love coffee mugs. All kinds of coffee mugs. I do not have a set number that I will only drink from each day. We do have quite a collection of mugs and the chosen one each day depends on two things: 1. What I’m wearing that day. 2. My mood (if I don’t have my outfit planned ahead which is rare) Favorites include: London Marathon 2000, Wildbirds on trees and feeders, spring florals, handthrown.

  8. Cara Says:

    Troy I love your backyard. It’s so pretty. Pennies are also my favorite flower for a yard. Well done.

  9. Troy Says:

    “Pennies” rule. They grow in crappy soil, require no work and produce amazing flowers. That’s the flower for me.

    All this coffee cup talk makes me want to have a brunch.

  10. Troy Says:

    And maybe people could bring their favorite coffee cup to drink from, or one that matched that day’s outfit.

  11. bigskymind Says:

    Ooh, Ooh, I would come south of 86th for that!

  12. Cara Says:

    I’m there and can make a mean blueberry muffin.

  13. crystal Says:

    i definitely lay in bed until the last possible moment. i wonder how much better my day would be if i’d use my deck for something other than cursing my neighbors loud and obnoxious dogs.


Leave a Reply

