I Won What?!

Friends who know me well will appreciate the irony of me sweeping our office’s NCAA Basketball Championship pool. 

Karen told me at church on Sunday, “You know, if Florida wins Monday night, you win the pool.”  I didn’t know, and I sort of dismissed the idea.  In fact, I actually thought Monday morning that I might have dreamed Karen saying that since it seemed so unlikely. 

I forgot to watch the game last night.  Had I remembered I still doubt I would have–it started at 9:00 p.m.!  So I was blissfully surprised this morning when I clicked on the Star online and saw the news.   

One of our brokers who was originally so pumped about the pool isn’t speaking to me today.  He can keep hatin’ though.  I’ll still be gettn’ my Ben Franklin. 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

9 Comments on “I Won What?!”


  1. Poo Poo on the Orange and Blue.

  2. Troy Says:

    Dave, when you can stick with a template for more than five minutes I’ll start listening to your advice for mine.

  3. bigskymind Says:

    Troy,
    I think he means Florida. Their colors are orange and blue. I like your new template by the way.

  4. Troy Says:

    Dave knows Florida’s colors? Color me impressed! Obviously I didn’t, which just goes to show how out of the NCAA loop I really was.


  5. I am laughing hysterically. I love the way you trashed me, then untrashed me and I didn’t even have to do any of the fighting. P.S.-I’m loving your new template by the way. I find it restful. I attribute my frequent template change to my self-diagnosed ADD, the fact that I’m a Gemini, and most importantly, that my fans demand a fresh look.

  6. jennie Says:

    Wow – Love the hilarious exchange between Troy and Dave. I’m not even believing you won, but that’s usually how office pools work! Congrats! You should buy something in Florida’s colors with your prize.

  7. ssemester Says:

    Late to the game here, but I will confess that the only money I ever won in an NCAA pool was one where there was a prize for the Worst Bracket Ever.

    I actually entered two brackets in that pool, at a buy-in of $5 each — one with my actual, uninformed picks (which were really more like “guesses”) and one with My System, which involved picking as the winner of each contest the team that had more vowels in its school’s full name. So I picked Middle Tennessee Valley University to go all the way that year…lucky for me, the prize for Worst Bracket was $15, so I actually made $5 on the transaction!

  8. Serge Says:

    I’m sorry, I dont speak jive. Where is Barbara Billingsley now that I need her?


Leave a Reply

