Tim “I Hate Gay People” Hardaway is a Comic Genius

Anne Curry and the Today show crew succumb to the audio-taped homo-hating-hilarity of former (heavy on the “former”) NBA player Tim Hardaway. And I have to admit, it is pretty funny.

I think the photo of Hardaway and the way he makes his voice sound like Tim Meadows’ The Ladies Man are especially inspired.

And is there anything funnier than a homophobe actually admitting, “I’m homophobic,” (or “homo-phobic” as Hardaway says it)? Though I suspect he thinks homophobic means “I hate gay people” rather than it’s actual meaning, which is an irrational fear of gayness. (He may not be homophobic after all, since after his recent comment I would call any fear he has of gay people perfectly rational.)

Despite the permission to hate (and to God knows what else) this “role model” just gave to the nutballs of the world, I kind of appreciate his honesty, in the same way any member of a minority might appreciate knowing who the klansmen in a crowd are. At least he’s not stabbing us in the back the way a lot of the “hate the sin, love the sinner” folks do.

Typically people who hate the way Hardaway does believe being gay is a choice, and they get mad when words like “bigot” get attached to these kinds of comments. Of course, I have no more of a choice about who I am attracted to than you do, but I’ve given up trying to convince brainiacs like Hardaway of this. They’ve got the “Bible on their side,” at least in the way slave-owners and Jim Crow ass-heads did in the last two centuries (“slaves return to your master” and all that). Frankly, I don’t care if they ever get it. I no longer feel the need to justify my existence. People usually have lots of reasons for holding on to stupid ideas anyway.

I wonder which clinic Hardaway will head to for “rehab.”

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

6 Comments on “Tim “I Hate Gay People” Hardaway is a Comic Genius”

  1. bigskymind Says:

    All this proves to me is that Tim Hardaway is an idiot.

  2. Duane Says:

    This seems pretty pathetic (me, of course), but who in the world is Tim Hardaway? Clearly someone who doesn’t matter a whole lot (at least to me, especially now!)

  3. George Says:

    Concerned Women of America reply: “Fuckin’ don’t even THINK about out-hating us!” (link below)

    http://www.365gay.com/Newscon07/02/021607hardaway.htm

  4. Karen Says:

    Okay, so let me get this right. The policy coordinator for Concerned WOMEN of America is a MAN?!?

  5. CRYSTAL Says:

    Trifling ass.
    Need I say more.

  6. adam j Says:

    man… i would say that is really shocking, but given that most professional atheletes are about as tolerant and progressive as the nascar-loving, nra gun-toting, knuckle-scraping troglodytes who were members of the batesville hunt club (one of whom i remember going spastic over a visitor from costa rica using the country club pool), it is unfortunately not surprising. the one small comfort is that maybe such odious comments from an inconsequential gomer like hardaway might actually cause other atheletes to stop and think ‘boy, i don’t want to sound or think like this buffoon.’ (by the way, i don’t mean to impugn all nascar lovers or all members of hunting clubs in rural arkansas. i’m sure there are some who don’t admire rick santorum, jesse helms, or pat robertson)

    and also, hardaway as a player ain’t all the impressive… he tends to fold up like a cheap 7-11 map under any kind of pressure.


Leave a Reply

