Gwen Stefani is John Denver’s Love Child

Karen and I went to Borders Books the other day so she could buy a present for her dad. While we were there I picked up Gwen Stefani’s newest and a Best of John Denver CD that I’d been meaning to buy. Pretty random choices I know, but I’m really happy with both.

At work today I had the CD cases next to each other and happened to notice how bizarrely similar they are.

Album covers

I love Gwen’s look here. I’m less interested in her art deco retro duds.

Please resist the urge to abuse me for buying a John Denver CD. I don’t know why, but I’ve always thought his music captured a really nice moment in country/folk music history. And though there were many years when he looked like Cousin Oliver from the Brady Bunch, I think he’s pretty cute here.

My mom and dad liked John Denver, too. They even went to a concert in Little Rock to see him when I was probaby seven. We asked them to bring us back something because we were fans. I got a little plaque with my name on it for my bedroom door (in case I forgot where my room was). My sister got a John Denver poster and some panties. I don’t think they were John Denver panties. I’m hoping my sister just needed some underwear and mom and dad happened to stop at Dillard’s on the way down or something. Otherwise, it seems kind of weird.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

14 Comments on “Gwen Stefani is John Denver’s Love Child”

  1. George Says:

    I’m curious why John Denver has a parental advisory label on his CD. Is there more to “Annie’s Song” than I remember?

  2. Duane Says:

    George, you are too funny!

  3. Troy Says:

    I think the warning has to do with the cover. When you open the CD case you see John Denver’s lower half.

    Gold chains were so the cowrie shell necklaces of the 70s.


  4. For one…what’s not to love about John Denver? For two…have you not listened to the lyrics? I mean explicit doesn’t even touch that business.

  5. jennie Says:

    I love John Denver. I like his Christmas CD with the Muppets, too. I don’t love his album cover or his acting abilities – Do you remember that made-for-TV movie he starred in? Awful. Can’t remember the name of it.

  6. Citizen D Says:

    This made me laugh out loud. I wonder if anyone has pointed the resemblance out to Gwen. I have the feeling that she wouldn’t be as amused.

    Incidentally, I don’t like John Denver, but I consider Gwen Stefani one of my dirty vices. I can’t get enough.

  7. Troy Says:

    I have to come clean about the parent advisory. Karen photoshopped it into the image when she scanned it. He ain’t really nekkid. I honestly didn’t know I was buying the racy version of Gwen’ s CD.

  8. Sally Says:

    I thought there was some hidden meaning in “Take Me Home Country Roads”. Who knew John Denver was such a style visionary?

  9. Jim Says:

    “Wind it Up Country Roads” would be a strange mashup!

  10. Troy Says:

    Mix it up Jim. I’ll post it.

  11. George Says:

    Troy, I was so excited for a minute there–I was about ready to google “John Denver naked.”

    Well, I still might just to see what I can find. . . .

    Duane, please don’t overestimate my sense of humor.

  12. runningpeanut Says:

    Troy, you should totally send this to perez hilton. He does these comparisons often and I know he would love this one. I bet you a dime to a donut he would publish it. Go to his email and send him a link to your blog and give him permission to lift it and I bet he’ll print it. It would be so fun to see that. Perez is the best you know. Anyway, so much fun. I love Gwen, I loved John Denver…I hear her voice in the mornin’ hour she calls me….do you think he meant Gwen?

  13. adam j Says:

    i would totally buy that album, even without my man john’s naked torso on the cover.
    and by the way, i think my folks took me to that concert… i have vague, hazy memory of sitting in barton up in the rafters with this sea of people and john and his band on a small podium in the middle of the auditorium. i was very young but i remember my dad being very impressed at how john d. never took a break during the whole concert ( he would tell many people this… kind of like when he took us to see air supply in searcy and kept telling everyone how loud the band was). my sister and i anxiously awaited ‘grandma’s feather bed’ when i noticed, down close to the stage, a young girl lunge up onto the stage and snatch at a small piece of white cloth which looked like it might be john d.’s handkerchief before disappearing back into the admiring throngs. i then noticed that there were several other such pieces of cloth dotting the stage. now, i’m not saying it was christie necessarily, but…

  14. Katy Says:

    Adam is right, he did not take a break during the show, we were very appropriately impressed that He is who we went to hear and that He is the only one we heard, along with his backup’s of course. Quite the show.
    That would have been mid 70’s. Troy, what did you do with your door sign?


Leave a Reply

